Our last day, and just time to take a turn round the main architectural feature of the city, Cardiff Castle. There are remains of a Roman wall, a Norman keep and a house that was started in 13C and been improved upon by successive owners until the 3rd Marquess of Bute transformed it into the gothic revival fantasy it is today.
The Marquess’s architect William Burges was as keen on the Middle Ages as his patron, and they spent 16 years working on the house until Burges died in 1881. Many of the decorative elements are religious and others romantic in tribute to his wife who he had married for love. In 1947 the Bute family gave the house to the people of Cardiff.
We took a guided tour of the house and oohd and aahd over the gorgeous gilded ceilings, mounded and painted plasterwork and stained glass.








We walked round the battlements and climbed up to the top of the Norman keep then bought a romantic souvenir in the shop, a heart with a Welsh love spoon!




Our trip to Cardiff ended where it started, with a cuppa at the Hayes Island Snack Bar … made with love since 1948 … before we caught our train home … catching sight of one last Dr Who reference!
